Design Review: Ann Taylor LOFT

20 Feb

With all the sales going on for President’s Day, I decided to do a little shopping this afternoon. I stopped in at Ann Taylor LOFT to try on the cargo pants I suggested as a key piece in this post. Here are the realizations I came to while determining whether to purchase them:

Realization #1:

The model is at least 6′-8” tall because those pants make her legs look at least a mile long.


Realization #2:

I am 5′-4” tall and need to wear these closer to knee length so the proportions look right. For reference, these pants are a size 6 regular. They didn’t have them in petite or short at the store, but it didn’t really matter since I just rolled them up a bit more.


Realization #3:

I already have a white button up shirt, navy sweater, and peep toe pumps so that I could wear a similar version of the outfit with only the purchase of pants and belt. (I do like the striped sweater better, but we all have to live within our budget, right?!)


Realization #4:

I often end up liking the way pants look from the front but don’t like it from the side (anyone else have a booty like mine?) I was pleasantly surprised that these worked fairly well, especially with the sweater.


Realization #5:

These pants do not look good unrolled, BUT they do work with flats! Bonus points for versatility.


So did I purchase them?

I did, in fact, buy them at 25% off for around $45. I may hold on to them for a bit to see if they go on further sale, but I decided to take the plunge because I liked that they were comfortable, different than anything I already own, and versatile for the summer since I hate shorts (more on that later). For some of you (like me), splurging on pants is the way to go since they are much more difficult to find in a good fit.  As always, you can make my day by leaving a comment!  Hope that you have a wonderful week!

7 Responses to “Design Review: Ann Taylor LOFT”

  1. Judi Folkert February 20, 2011 at 10:45 pm #

    I really liked the way they looked on you with the heels as well as the sandals. You even looked taller! The belt was really cute with the sweater and shirt. Oh to be 40 years younger! (You must show us what they looked like rolled down! Now I’m really curious!)

  2. Michelle Folkert February 21, 2011 at 9:32 pm #

    You are cute. I am glad you are my cousin. 🙂

  3. Emily February 21, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    Those pants look fantastic on you! I want to go shopping with you.

  4. Elya February 21, 2011 at 11:37 pm #

    Although I feel that I am way to short for these pants…you make me want to go try them on definitely. Love the outfit.

  5. Lisa Nienhuis February 21, 2011 at 11:48 pm #

    I too hate shorts. I may have to go see if I can find these pants too!

  6. Shannon February 22, 2011 at 11:40 am #

    You know I’m not a heels girl, but I’m feeling inspired. Those look so cute with the heels!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fall Trends: Corduroy Pants « Engineered Style - October 17, 2011

    […] I’ll be keeping my eyes open for a pair this season.  I’ve mentioned it before, but pants are difficult for me to find in a good fit.  They are something for which I’m willing to pay full price and get alterations.  An […]

Leave a Reply

