Casual Friday

11 Mar

Or should I say Thursday? I wore this yesterday…it’s been a long week, and I was already ready for something low key by Thursday! That’s what happens when you stare at a set of contract drawings for hours on end.  I’m getting ready for an exciting weekend…one night out dancing with the girls, and an afternoon with the husband pretending to be art snobs at the Kimbell Art Museum. Can it get any better than that?

But what I really wanted to talk to you about was a new type of post I’m going to start next week. Do you have a style or type of clothing / accessory that you’re just not QUITE ready to try out? Well, let me be your mock-up! My sister mentioned that she was browsing a colleague’s photography blog and ran across this photo in the midst of this post (and this one!). She really likes the idea of pairing short ruffle socks with heels. I’ve also seen the ‘socks and heels’ (yeah, that’s the technical term) trend in a number of place, so be on the look out, because I’ll be trying this out for you!

1 – J.Crew

2 – Banana Republic

3 – ASOS

4 – Urban Outfitters

7 Responses to “Casual Friday”

  1. Emily March 11, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

    Socks with heels seem like they would cut off even the longest of legs, making them look shorter and wider than they really are… right?? But don’t listen to me. I’d wear converse high tops with shorts.

    • Jenni March 11, 2011 at 10:53 pm #

      Yeah, I’m interested to find out, especially since I have shorter legs. I’m hoping that by choosing a light cream or tan color that it won’t do that. But that’s why I’m your mock-up–let me look silly before you do! 😉

  2. Emily March 11, 2011 at 2:07 pm #

    AND before I forget… super cute outfit!! I LOVE the jacked AND the hat!!

  3. Shannon March 11, 2011 at 4:19 pm #

    What brand/style are those jeans?? Super cute and flattering!!

    • Jenni March 11, 2011 at 10:51 pm #

      Thanks, Shannon! They are good ‘ole Target brand. I actually liked them so much, I got 3 pairs…2 different colors, 2 shortened, 1 left long for heels. Can’t mess with a good thing!

  4. Tim Williams March 12, 2011 at 3:05 am #

    Hey! Thanks heaps for the reference to Andrew+Lisa’s wedding on my blog! It’s always an honour and a privilege to be posted on others blogs.

    Enjoy!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mockup: Socks and Heels « Engineered Style - March 21, 2011

    […] on…do you remember this post?  I picked up a couple pairs of socks this weekend and decided to try out the ‘socks and […]

Leave a Reply

