Design Consultation: Spring Flats

14 Mar

A friend from Michigan, Kyle, recently sent me this question:

Fav flats? It will soon enough be warm/not to much melty snow outside in Michigan for flats. I’m dying for a few nice pairs… any suggestions? I feel like all ballet flat type shoes get destroyed when you were them.”

I could not agree more! I love the look of ballet flats, but they often have very thin soles and material, leaving me with pants that drag on the ground and feet that feel every rock and pebble around. I wear flats every day to work, so I’m always on the lookout for cute, high quality flats. I watch for flats that have good soles with some interesting details, whether it be bright colors, patent leather, buckles, buttons or ruffles. Unfortunately, this type of selection process does narrow the field by quite a bit and raise the asking price. However, I’ve found that it’s been worth it, considering I’m wearing them all day, every day. That’s more than I can say for a lot of my heels, and I’ve spent a lot more on those in the past. Anyway, here are some suggestions for some flats that I’ve loving right now.


#1 Sihlouettes: $20

#2 DSW (Rock & Candy): $29.95

#3 Target (Merona): $19.99

#4 DSW (Nickels): $29.95

#5 DSW (Born): $49.95 (Also comes in bright yellow!)

#6 Endless (LifeStride): $48.95

#7 Endless (ECCO): $57.50

2 Responses to “Design Consultation: Spring Flats”

  1. Emily March 14, 2011 at 11:55 am #

    #5 here I come!! LOVE those!!

  2. Shannon March 14, 2011 at 2:39 pm #

    5 and 6… SO cute! I have some DSW certificates hanging out… I think I might need to make a purchase!

Leave a Reply

