Mockup: Socks and Heels

21 Mar

A tie…really, guys?  A tie?!  Thanks for your votes this past weekend on what I should wear to the groundbreaking today.  Alas, it was a tie, so I still ended up making the final decision.  I’ll post some photos later this week, so you can see what I chose!

Moving on…do you remember this post?  I picked up a couple pairs of socks this weekend and decided to try out the ‘socks and heels’ for church on Sunday.  I was pleasantly surprised with the results.  Admittedly, this is a pretty basic outfit, but I’m notoriously late to church on Sundays, so I was proud that I actually got the socks in at all.  Let me know what you think of it—would you try it?

(Dress: Gap – similar, Sweater: Old Navy – similar, Shoes: MIA, Socks: Kohl’s)

Oh, and last but not least, I wanted to show you a picture of my Saturday morning.  It was a morning of paintballing—fun and intense.  Nothing wakes you up quite like paintballs hurling at you at 200 mph. I even had to photoshop one of the welts out of the Sunday morning photos.

6 Responses to “Mockup: Socks and Heels”

  1. Judi March 21, 2011 at 12:11 pm #

    Loved the pictures (it looked like your photographer might have been standing in the water for one of them!) but not sure how my old bare legs would look with ankle socks and heels! I remember elderly ladies sporting that look in a housedress while cleaning! It doesn’t conjure up a fashion statement as yet. How about socks that are a bit more on the wild side such as multiple colors or ruffled tops that would override my white ankle socks and pumps vision from yester-year? Ouch on the paintballing!!!

  2. Carla March 23, 2011 at 9:54 pm #

    I’m still very unsure about socks and heels or sandals. I remember doing that in junior high but I don’t see myself pulling that off now. Maybe i’m just not as fashion forward as you 🙂

    • Jenni March 23, 2011 at 10:38 pm #

      Yeah, it was new to me too. I think it’s good to start with something sheer with just a bit of frilly-ness (is that a word?). With these, even if I don’t wear them with skirts a lot, they still work as nice dress socks!

  3. Regina stamatiou March 23, 2011 at 11:38 pm #

    Jennifer, you definitely made this work!! I think it looks good! Bythe way, I am also notoriously late for church :-). I think it has something to do with the fact that I change several times before deciding on an outfit…

  4. Kristen March 27, 2011 at 6:33 pm #

    I love ankle-length socks with skirts and dresses. You wear them well and hopefully you will be encouraged to keep trying them. I especially love thin fold-down plain white socks, but I sometimes wear black ones, too. Sometimes I think when I am indecisive on what to wear that my first instincts are best and I shouldn’t second-guess myself.

    • Jenni March 28, 2011 at 1:01 pm #

      Thanks, Kristen! Thanks for the ideas, and I will definitely be wearing this style again! (It was too fun!)

Leave a Reply

