Re-Engineered: LOFT Shorts and Sequins

11 Apr

It was a hot 90 degrees here this weekend, and I actually broke out a pair of shorts on Saturday and Sunday. I surprised myself since I usually forgo shorts until the heat of July and August when they become imperative. Even then, I usually go for a skirt or dress instead of the dreaded shorts (Why do they have to squish your thighs out when you sit down?!). However, I spent the days out in the heat shopping and running errands and decided to go for it. Which brings me to today’s re-engineered outfit….shorts! I love this take on shorts by LOFT for a number of reasons—stripes liven up the shorts while managing to remain a versatile wardrobe piece, sequins (need I say more?), and a linen blazer dresses up the outfit while remaining cool and chic. So what do you think? Is this reason enough for you to wear shorts this summer? Do you already love shorts? How do you wear them? I need suggestions since I own so few!

LOFT ($306)

Linen Blazer (J.Jill): $24.99

Sequin Tank (Forever 21): $19.80

Striped Shorts (Forever 21): $17.80

Sandals (Target): $15.00

Bracelet (Kohl’s): $13.00

Necklace (Kohl’s): $13.00

TOTAL: $103.59

4 Responses to “Re-Engineered: LOFT Shorts and Sequins”

  1. Carla April 11, 2011 at 8:35 pm #

    I live in shorts from the time it first starts to heat up until October when it’s cool enough to venture out in jeans (but you should know that about me already from those cold morning runs!). i say shorts and a t-shirt or tank top & a pair of flip flops. i bought a few pairs from Old Navy a couple of years ago and they still look nice.

  2. Elya April 13, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

    I despise shorts. I think I only owned one pair last year. I may have to step out of my box a little and grab these. I am really feeling the entire outfit!

  3. Jenni April 14, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

    Carla, isn’t it funny that I will wear running shorts any day of the week, but grab a pair of normal shorts and I run away? You’d think I’d outgrow that at some point. 🙂 I actually bought a pair of Old Navy shorts last year that have been great, too. LOFT has some neat patterns this year that look pretty fun, so I may have to check those out too.

  4. Jenni April 14, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

    Elya, I’m glad you like it! I would imagine that with your height, you never have an issue with shorts that are too short! Or is it the opposite problem–do they all look too long?!

Leave a Reply

