Fashion Beauty Friend Friday: Shoes!

5 May

Two posts in one week about shoes? For those of you who have seen my closet, this is no surprise. But really, it’s because I’ve joined a lovely group started by Katy Rose @ Modly Chic that gives bloggers a chance to all comment on the same subject every Friday. This Friday happens to be on shoes, so without further ado:

1.What is your go-to pair of shoes?

Wedges. I’ve said it once, and I’ll say it a dozen more times. Wedges are SO comfortable! My current go-to wedge right now is this lovely lady from DSW. I love the neutral color and the cut-outs give it a little edge.

2. What goes into your shoe buying decisions?

I never thought about this question until shopping with a friend a few weeks ago. We started discussing shoes, and she mentioned that she only buys neutral colors (black, brown, tan) so they will match every outfit. That made me realize that I actually go about my decision making in the opposite manner. I try to buy shoes in every color of the rainbow. I’m drawn to bold colors and unusual patterns. (Yes, I see the irony in this comment considering my answer to Question 1—I guess it’s the cut-outs that got me) I love heels, but my job requires me to wear flats, so I try to take this into account when shopping too. It’s smarter for me to buy flats since I’ll get so much more use out of them. Admittedly, not as fun though!

3. The majority of the shoes in your closet are what color?

There really isn’t a dominant color. I suppose I have a few black and brown basic flats, but for the most part, there is a lot of variety. I think that shoes can really set off an outfit, and I often pay more attention to them that I do my jewlery.

4. When it comes to designer shoes what are your favorite brands and why?

For the most part, I don’t pay attention to brands. For truly functional everyday shoes (I work in a construction office, so they HAVE to be practical!), I’d had great luck with ECCO and Merrell. They stand up well and are super comfortable. I’m brand loyal in running shoes too (Go Mizuno!), but other than that, doesn’t matter to me.

5. If price wasn’t an issue, you’d own which shoe?

Oh, Christian Louboutin, why do you make your shoes so far out of reach? I don’t know why, but those red bottoms get me every time! I’ve told husband that someday, a pair of those will reside in my closet…daydreams for now!

This has been fun!  Looking forward to seeing everyone else’s responses too!  Have a great weekend!

2 Responses to “Fashion Beauty Friend Friday: Shoes!”

  1. Mom May 6, 2011 at 12:14 pm #

    Great questions and thoughtful answers. With long and narrow, hard-to-fit feet that are growing elderly way too quickly, I’d have to admit that I fall into the neutral choice realm (pretty much whenever a shoe actually fits, I buy them). However, that doesn’t mean I can’t dream about comfy Christian Louboutin shoes with red bottoms either. Of course, using comfy and Christian Louboutin in the same sentence may be an oxymoron!

  2. Jenni May 7, 2011 at 10:51 am #

    Well, Louboutin does sell flats, but then the red bottoms are hidden so I don’t know if it would be worth it!!

Leave a Reply

