FBFF: Outside Influences

13 May

I need to remind myself to stop and smell the fake flowers.

(Pants: Target-similar, Shirt: Old Navy, Flower Pin: Kohl’s-similar, Sweater: Old Navy-similar, Shoes: DSW, Glasses: For Real. I really wear glasses.)

Yesterday I couldn’t help but wish I had a maid. And if it’s not too much to ask, a cook and personal assistant. Days like this I can’t imagine what we’ll do when there are kids running around! Maybe by then I’ll learn to embrace the chaos of my life…I hope.

I’m looking forward to reading the other responses to this week’s FBFF (Fashion Beauty Friend Friday)…mostly because my responses are pretty lame and I need your inspiration!

 What magazines do you subscribe to?

Wait, do you mean subscribe to or actually read? Collecting piles of magazines just happens to be one of my most endearing habits to husband. I’ve been getting better though, and I think I’m down to Runner’s World and Fitness right now…and maybe Better Homes and Garden? I think that last one was a gift from mom. At the moment, I have not been running or working out, and my house is a mess. Maybe I SHOULD read them? I have enjoyed InStyle in the past, and I’ve been known to check People.com several times a day.

 Do you watch any fashion TV shows?

Nope. I look for fashion in normal shows, though. I’ve been known to shout out–”Hey! I have a shirt like that!” I also comment incessantly on what Lily and Robin wear in How I Met Your Mother.

 Beyond blogs, what websites do you frequent for fashion inspiration?

Usually I just check the lookbooks from different stores. Anthro, J.Crew, and LOFT are current favorites.

 Advertisements play a huge role in forming public opinion about a product or brand…what ads do you like and why?

I don’t watch commercials (thank you DVR!), but in general I like quirky and realistic advertisements. For instance, the commercials for cotton are great, and Dove’s ‘Real Beauty’ campaign is encouraging too.

 Do you own any fashion books?

Nope. Zero. Zilch. Does that count against me? I’m still searching for a place to store my scrapbook albums, so I’m not sure where I would put a fashion book!

One Response to “FBFF: Outside Influences”

  1. two birds May 13, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

    you’re hilarious! i am the same way with tv…constantly having that one-sided conversation!

Leave a Reply

