Bloggers Do It Better: Ready for (Prep) School

20 May

It’s almost summer, but I’m pretty sure I’m ready to go back to school. Prep school, that is. I’m a public school gal, but I think I could get used to this look. The very lovely (and smart!) Kristina from Pretty, Shiny, Sparkly offered up her “Bloggers Do It Better” challenge with the prep school look. I do admit I was a bit apprehensive about this look since no one in my office wears a tie. Once I tried a few options, though, I was sold. Loved it! Not an everyday event, but was definitely worth it for a change of pace! Plus, now I feel like I have a bigger wardrobe since apparently I can raid husband’s side of the closet for inspiration. So what do YOU think? Have you ever worn something that belongs to your husband / boyfriend / brother / dad?

P.S. Dad, you have a way better selection of ties than John. So watch out next time I’m in town!

P.P.S. I so wish I had THIS watch to wear with this outfit!  Note to self:  Wear more accessories!

(Shirt: Gap – similar, Cardigan: Express – similar, Tie: Husband’s, Jeans: Target – similar, Shoes: Gianni Bini @ Dillards – similar)

18 Responses to “Bloggers Do It Better: Ready for (Prep) School”

  1. designedbyann May 20, 2011 at 6:45 am #

    love your outfit! It is really preppy!!that green+blue combination is very nice!
    Anna

  2. Laura May 20, 2011 at 6:59 am #

    The green is very cute xx

  3. Still blonde after all these YEARS! May 20, 2011 at 9:42 am #

    Oh girl! That green cardigan and the grey striped shirt are just right off the fashion pages. Love the a pairing.

    I’d love it if you would stop by and see how a 45+ year old handles “Prep School”—you might find something to smile about anyway! See you there! http://stillblondeafteralltheseyears.com/2011/05/menswear-american-prep-outfits-modeled-by-women-over-45-bloggers-do-it-better/

    We have $75 Dress GIveaway on our right hand sidebar. Win something for yourself

    The Chief Blonde

  4. Style Chic 360 May 20, 2011 at 10:02 am #

    You look so cute! I love the green cardi! great job on the challenge!

  5. Fashion Confessions of a Mommy May 20, 2011 at 10:33 am #

    I love this. Visiting from BDIB site.
    Your bright green cardi and that tie is an amazing combo.
    Nice job.
    I always feel good about my outfit until I see all the other links too and realize I could have done much better!

    Daphne.
    http://fashiondivamommy.blogspot.com

  6. lostindrawers May 20, 2011 at 11:07 am #

    love the stripe on stripe!

  7. Kimberlee May 20, 2011 at 11:47 am #

    Aww you look so cute 🙂

  8. Rocquelle May 20, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

    Such a cute look! Love your stripes and lime cardigan!

  9. Cait May 20, 2011 at 12:23 pm #

    This look is so cute, definitely something I would like to wear 🙂

  10. Salazar May 20, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

    Love the striped shirt, and that green cardigan is great. The perfect preppy look!

    14 Shades Of Grey

  11. J May 20, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

    The green cardi complements the stripey shirt and denim. Very well engineered girl!!!

    J.
    http://adimpleate.wordpress.com

  12. Sophie - Country Girl May 20, 2011 at 4:08 pm #

    cute preppy look, love that bright green cardi!

  13. John May 20, 2011 at 7:16 pm #

    Love the tie! I need to get me one of them!

  14. Michelle May 20, 2011 at 10:13 pm #

    Love the mixing of the stripes!

  15. Alicia May 21, 2011 at 9:14 am #

    Love your look. The green is a great color on you!

  16. Inez May 21, 2011 at 2:34 pm #

    Love the stripe tie with the stripe shirt. The bright green cardi pulled gave it a lot of warmth and femininity. Love it.

  17. Shasie May 22, 2011 at 3:55 pm #

    Cute look for the challenge. Love the green cardigan! Would love for you stop by and check mine out!

    Shasie
    Live Life in Style

  18. Miss Rockwell May 31, 2011 at 10:04 pm #

    I’m really digging this lime green with the contrasting stripes. Would have also loved to see you rock some brouge with this ‘fit.

    I would love to see your dad’s tie collection!!

    http://thriftyandshameless.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

