FBFF: Hair Philosophy

26 May

Let’s start things off with a trip down memory lane over the last 10-ish years.

So now that you can tell I like to change my hair style, I’d like to share why:

IT’S JUST HAIR.

IT WILL GROW BACK.

Maybe you disagree, but I figure that if I change my clothes everyday, I may as well change my hair style at least a few times a year.

1.      How often do you get your hair cut?

I’m no poster child in this regard.  I cut it when I don’t like what it looks like.  Sometimes this is 6 weeks.  Other times, it’s 4 months.

2.      Do you go to the same stylist each time, try someone new, go to the cheap hair cutting chains or live it up in a salon?

I’m always trying to find the best deal, so I don’t usually stay with the same person.  If I’m having a “major” style change, I’ll usually pick one of my favorites.  I do like salons better than the cheap chains, but to each their own!  (Again, it’s just hair!)

3.      Do you color your hair? How often? What’s your natural color?

I love, love, love to color and highlight my hair.  Problem is, I have thick hair and it costs a fortune!  So I try to limit it to a few times a year, max.  Most of the time it’s similar to my natural color so that it stays low maintenance.  That way it doesn’t completely blow out the budget for the year!

4.      The one thing you always do to keep your hair looking great is:

Have the stylist cut it so that there is a minimal amount of work on it to make it look good.  I can handle a blow dryer, but a curling iron?  Only for special occasions.  Apparently, this has kept it really healthy.  I had an Awesome / Awkward moment (channeling Sydney from the Daybook!) at the salon a couple months ago when the 2 guys working on my hair kept running their hands through it telling me how soft and silky it is.  Um, thanks?  Now could you stop touching my head like that?

5.      What hair trend do you love and wish you could rock?

I really like the classic California beach look—long, wavy, blond. It’s so classic!  Thus, I’ve been wanting to get a wave perm for a long time.  You don’t have to call me crazy—the look on my stylist’s face already did.  I suppose you always want what you don’t have, but that’s not stopping me!  I’m still going to do it!  (once I grow my hair out…which takes FOREVER!)

Now go check out ModlyChic for the rest of the FBFF!

8 Responses to “FBFF: Hair Philosophy”

  1. Robin May 26, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

    Great post! What fun to go back through all your hairstyles!

    • Jenni May 27, 2011 at 11:51 am #

      Thanks Robin! It was fun–I started with the beginning of my digital photos. Have those really only been around for 10ish years?!

  2. Kimberlee May 27, 2011 at 10:05 am #

    LOVE the collage! That is amazing! I try to remind myself that my hair will grow back if I get a bad cut but I haven’t been very brave in changing it up 😦

    • Jenni May 27, 2011 at 11:55 am #

      Kimberlee–so impressed that you have the willpower to keep your hair long! And even more impressed that you’ve never colored it–now that’s unique!

  3. Ruby Girl May 27, 2011 at 12:45 pm #

    Wowsa! lots of diff hairstyles. The one constant is your beauty! And that’s why I’m with you. I’ve been 3 hair colors this year for the first time in my life and I love it! So fun 🙂 ❤ EverRubyGirl.blogspot.com

  4. Dana May 27, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

    I love the collage of pictures! I completely agree about the long wavy hair. I try to get the look by scrunching because any perm I’ve ever had has turned out horribly but I’ve had friends do it and it looks fantastic.

  5. Miss Rockwell May 31, 2011 at 10:09 pm #

    Wow! This is a great post. You have soooo many different looks. How long did it take you to come up with all of those looks for the collage? That’s at least five years worth of hair, huh?

    http://thriftyandshameless.blogspot.com

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 18: Statement Jewelry « Engineered Style - September 2, 2011

    […] P.S. I got a haircut yesterday.  Oh, and a feather.  John’s response was my favorite….A quizzical look and then, “A feather? But you’re not a bird…?”  Ultimately, my decision was based on my philosophy in this post. […]

Leave a Reply

