Hometown Shout Out: Grand Rapids

3 Jun

I know all the Michiganders out there have already seen this video, but I couldn’t help but share it with the rest of you lovelies.  This video was created in response to a list published by Newsweek (see it here) that listed Grand Rapids, Michigan as one of the Top 10 Dying Cities in America.  While the population numbers may support this claim, Grand Rapids is a culturally growing city (in my opinion!).  I’m amazed every time I visit home at all the new places to visit there.  So, naturally, Rob Bliss decided to organize a response.  Here’s the result:

Happy Friday!

5 Responses to “Hometown Shout Out: Grand Rapids”

  1. Pink Sun Drops June 3, 2011 at 3:55 pm #

    I saw this when it circulated on Facebook, but I didn’t realize it was in response to being called a dying city. That’s even MORE awesome! Way to go, Grand Rapids!! This video was incredible.

    • Jenni June 4, 2011 at 9:29 am #

      Yeah, I didn’t realize that at first either–now I wish I could have been there! How much fun would that have been?!

  2. Cousin Meredith!! June 3, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

    Haven’t they ever heard of Art Prize? Or the ever-expanding Medical Mile? Crazy Newsweek!
    PS- Jenni I LOVE this blog! I just discovered it last week (took me long enough!!) and now I read it every day 🙂

    • Jenni June 4, 2011 at 9:26 am #

      Thanks, Meredith! Glad you like it!

  3. Posky June 6, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

    I kept hearing about this in Detroit and then remember something being on the radio about it. It seemed sort of sad to me, but I like seeing a city come together to do something creative.

Leave a Reply

