Summer Wishlist

5 Jun

For me, this summer is all about mixing crisp neutrals and bold colors. Bright sunlight, long days, barbeques and margaritas on an outdoor patio all welcome bold, cheery shades of yellow, blue, red, and pink. Let it take the stage by pairing it with a neutral base or accessories. As for shapes, I love loose, flowing shapes (such as the pleated skirt below) and wide leg jeans (universally flattering). If you’ve read this blog for a bit, you know I need to throw a blazer in there too because layering structured shapes just happens to be one of my favorite pastimes. While it wouldn’t be needed for an outdoor event, I still love it for inside cold restaurants, shopping centers, and the icebox that is my office. (Anybody else stock their office with winter parkas?)

So what’s on your wishlist this summer? Have you already found something that you LOVE and can’t stop wearing? Send me a picture or a link—I love to find things that are already tried and true!

Pleated Skirt (UO): $49.00

White Jeans (Gap): $69.50

Pink Blazer (Zara): $99.90

Espadrilles Shoes (Target): $24.99

Bright Patent Belts (Topshop): $24.00

White Watch (Fossil): $105.00

3 Responses to “Summer Wishlist”

  1. Firesparx June 17, 2011 at 7:48 am #

    Love love love the red skirt! This summer I’m on the lookout for white pants that aren’t see-through (do they even exist?!)

    And yes, I have to layer it up in the summer at work because I work in a mostly male office and they are impervious to the cold.

    • Jenni June 17, 2011 at 8:40 pm #

      You know? I’ve heard the see-through concern from a few people now. I happened to find some white jeans at a thrift store (crazy, right?), and had no issues with it. Admittedly, I did check in the mirror though!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fashion Expansion: Pleats « Engineered Style - July 21, 2011

    […] may remember that my summer wishlist included a pleated skirt.  I haven’t purchased it (yet), but I continue to be enamored by all […]

Leave a Reply

