Design Consultation: Bright Shoes!

10 Jun

Guess what?  I discovered Polyvore yesterday.   And then got sucked in for about 2 hours.  I’ve seen Polyvore used several places, so I’m not sure why it took me so long to try it out!  I discovered another website a few days ago too called Go Chic or Go Home.  Most of it requires you to join (which, let’s face it, I did immediately), and I discovered that you can add in photos of the clothing in your closet and then create outfits with stuff you already own!  I can now fullfill my lifelong dream to have a wardrobe computer just like Cher in “Clueless”.  You can have it too.  Just go sign up!  Then maybe you can even pick out an outfit for me from my closet.  Now wouldn’t that be fun (for me)?

Onward.  My lovely friend, Kristen, who just happened to break my heart and move away last weekend, mentioned that could use some help styling bright shoes.  Bright shoes and Kristen  just happen to be two of my favorites, so I’ve obliged.

Outfit #1 (Purple Shoes)

I love a little splash of red and purple together.  Pretty sure I’ll be joining the red hat society later in life (tee-hee!).  The key is to keep the colors separate and in small quantities.

Outfit #2 (Orange Shoes)

Orange is a difficult color to match!  I happen to love the contrast of it with aqua or turquoise.  Keeping the rest of the outfit fairly neutral helps as well.

Outfit #3 (Blue Shoes)

This is the easiest route.  You can always throw in colors within the same family. Coordinate some of the accessories (not all!) and you’ll always look polished.  P.S. I added that scarf in for your hair!   I love hair accessories.  Plus, Kristen has gorgeous long, brown hair, so this would provide a great contrast for her.

 Happy Friday, beauties!  Have  a wonderful weekend.

Purple Shoes

Orange Shoes

Blue Shoes
3 Responses to “Design Consultation: Bright Shoes!”

  1. Elya June 11, 2011 at 12:48 pm #

    I love the blue shoes! I found them while in California at h&m.
    They are really awkward so I didn’t purchase them 😦
    But I really enjoyed how you put the orange shoes with
    That second outfit!

  2. Cynthia @ Go Chic or Go Home June 11, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

    Thanks for the shout-out, Jenni! So happy that you found us.

    P.S. Sad that your great stripey top is no longer in stores. Would have picked one up for myself. 🙂

  3. Anne June 13, 2011 at 6:38 am #

    I’ve been trying to branch out to colorful shoes because they just really jazz up an outfit, don’t they? Love your outfit ideas, especially the second one.

    p.s. had to come say a return hello after your comment on my blog… So funny to randomly “meet” fellow former Hollanders 🙂

Leave a Reply

