Weekend Project: DIY Threaded Necklace

9 Jul

So guess what?  Over 4th of July weekend, I did ANOTHER do-it-yourself project.  I know–I was surprised too!  This time, I roped my friend Jennifer (yeah, I like to be friends with people who have the same name as me) into doing the project with me.  And yet again, I found it on Pinterest.  Here’s what I was going for (roughly):

{Tatertots and Jello}

How cute, right?  I keep seeing those little rosettes everywhere, so I was excited to try to make one!  Turns out they are really easy!  Want to see how ours turned out?

Soooo, what do you think?  Do you like it?  I love how it turned out!  The tutorial had great directions, although I do want to share a few thoughts for those of us who aren’t so crafty to help you avoid some of the things we did wrong!

Lessons learned:

-It’s supposed to take 15 minutes.  If you’re anything like me, block out a couple hours.

-Doing it with a friend is perfect!  We were able to pick out 3 types of beads and split them so we had great variety at a lower cost!

-Normal thread would work better than clear beading thread.  Although the clear beading thread disappears, it’s more like plastic–so when you tie knots and cut off the ends, it leave little pokey ends.

-One of our bead selections has what I would call a “metal cage” around the bead.  Looks super cool…but the metal is getting snagged on things.  Maybe stick to smooth beads?

-The tutorial suggests making the thread twice as long as the necklace.  I suggest 4 times as long….don’t know what I was doing with all that thread but I ran out and had to start a new thread (which meant more pokey plastic ends).

-Don’t have leftover scrap fabric for the rosette?  Me either (I would have to sew to have that, right?)  Just cut up a bandanna and use that!

And because I couldn’t resist wearing it to work the next day, you get some outfit pictures too!  Hope you’re having a great weekend!

{Jeans: Target-similar, Shirt: Old Navy-similar, Sweater: LOFT-similar, Sunnies: Random Ski Shop in CO, Earrings: Kohl’s, Necklace: Self made}

5 Responses to “Weekend Project: DIY Threaded Necklace”

  1. Pixie in Pumps July 10, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

    Oh man… i am going to have to give this a shot. Though i’m with you i don’t think this is going to be something that only takes me 15 minutes!

    • Jenni July 10, 2011 at 3:43 pm #

      Yeah, and bring coupons to the craft store! We each ended up paying about $13 for our necklace, but that was after 2 coupons, and it was surprising how fast those little beads can add up! Good luck, and send me a picture of what you make!

      -Jenni

  2. Stephanie July 10, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

    Love it, Jenni! Wish I lived close enough to do crafty things with you, too. Can you take another picture, just of the necklace up close? I want to check out the details and the rosette up close.

  3. Firesparx July 13, 2011 at 9:49 am #

    Love it! Already added it to my To Do list. To bad there are a dozen boring things on the list above it that I have to do first ;o(

    On a side note, do you have any tips on getting an invite on Pinterest? Browsing is fun but I want to start my own boards!

    • Firesparx July 13, 2011 at 12:55 pm #

      Thanks for the invite Jenni!

Leave a Reply

