Bloggers Do It Better: Maxi Skirts

14 Jul

Confession.  A couple years ago I thought this whole maxi dress / skirt phenomenon was ridiculous.  People saw them as a way to dress up while wearing what feels like pajamas.  I thought they still looked like they were wearing pajamas.  I ended up picking up a couple on sale at Target, but I saw them as likely beach coverups and casual weekend wear.  And then I started reading fashion blogs.  I saw how they could be re-mixed into something that could stay chic while being comfortable.  I was excited for this Bloggers Do It Better so I could try it for myself.  It was fun, but Texas needs to stop being a thousand degrees because a long cotton skirt is HOT.  I may just need to look for a lighter version in my next maxi dress.  P.S. I like maxi dresses because they can be worn as both a dress and a skirt.  Nothing like versatility!  Go ahead and check out Pretty, Shiny, Sparkly for some more ideas!

{Maxi: Target, Top: Anthropologie, Wedges: Target, Necklace: F21, Belt: Aldo}

23 Responses to “Bloggers Do It Better: Maxi Skirts”

  1. ashleypilotinglife July 15, 2011 at 12:42 am #

    I’m visiting from BDIB. I love your polka dot top with bright pink maxi! So fun. (:

    I also read your about section and see that you’re from Michigan… I’m from northern MI and this Florida heat is killing me too! The maxi skirt was a little too warm for our heat today… ugh.

    Glad I came across your blog!

    • Jenni July 16, 2011 at 12:59 am #

      Glad I’m not the only one who was overheating! Love to meet other (former) Michiganders! I keep waiting to get used to this Texas heat, but still no luck!

  2. ashley July 15, 2011 at 12:44 am #

    that last comment totally messed up the link to my blog… oops.

  3. aprilgia July 15, 2011 at 4:57 am #

    That shirt is very cute! Looks good with the pink skirt!

    • Jenni July 17, 2011 at 11:37 pm #

      Thank you! I checked out your blog too, and you can really rock a bright red lip! I’m still easing into that myself!

  4. Tanvi July 15, 2011 at 6:40 am #

    That’s a really cute look! Love the pink of your maxi skirt.

    ♡ from © tanvii.com

    • Jenni July 17, 2011 at 11:41 pm #

      You can’t go wrong with a solid bright color in the summer! Love how you styled a bright blue version!

  5. Fashion By Alicia July 15, 2011 at 9:32 am #

    Love the look! I live in Jacksonville and the heat has been terrible! I have opted to take indoor photos because I can’t stand the heat!!

    • Jenni July 17, 2011 at 11:48 pm #

      Yes, I’ve been opting for the “Quick, let’s run out and take a couple pics and then hurry in to stop sweating” option. I bet Jacksonville is even more humid than Dallas!

  6. Robin July 15, 2011 at 10:31 am #

    I love the pink with the polka dots! I was always a little frightened of maxis because when I thought “maxi” I thought of those awful denim jumpers that older women wear while hitting up dollar stores and craft outlets. Not that there’s anything wrong with either . . . minus the jumper.

    • Jenni July 17, 2011 at 11:54 pm #

      Hahaha! So funny! Can’t wait until those denim jumpers come back in style…hehe!

  7. fashionconfessionsofamommy July 15, 2011 at 10:44 am #

    Visiting from BDIB…
    You did a great job pairing it with the black and white top. The skirt’s color totally pop.
    Love the backdrop as well.
    Daphne.
    http://fashiondivamommy.blogspot.com

  8. Katy Rose July 15, 2011 at 3:25 pm #

    I love the way you paired this pink skirt with the fun basic-colored top and then tied it all together with the belt! Great look.

  9. Shannon July 15, 2011 at 5:03 pm #

    Very cute! I have never been able to bring myself to buy one because they just seem to cling to me in all the wrong places (and also I’m with you on the pajama thing), but you make it look good!

    • Jenni July 18, 2011 at 12:06 am #

      Thanks, Shay! I do admit that you have to be selective to pick the right one–the dresses work better because they are already loose at the waist, so the clingy issue goes away.

  10. jemappelleshen July 15, 2011 at 11:30 pm #

    Hey I participated in the BDIB challenge too!

    Cute skirt, love the ruffle detail, and that top def brings the whole look to life!

    jemappelleshen.wordpress.com

  11. meagan July 16, 2011 at 3:18 pm #

    I love the polka dots with your maxi skirt!
    -Meagan
    http://spunkychateau.blogspot.com

  12. simplychic08 July 16, 2011 at 11:28 pm #

    dots and stripes 🙂 how cool!

  13. Janell Sheppard July 17, 2011 at 12:11 pm #

    Such a cute outfit! I love maxi dresses, but haven’t tried maxi skirts as yet, but I plan to before the cold weather sets in. I have plans to transform my maxi dresses into skirts as you mentioned. They really are versatile. I love your polka dot and stripes top too 🙂

  14. Mel July 17, 2011 at 11:53 pm #

    Very cute outfit! Love the way you styled the maxi!
    It’s been crazy hot in Oklahoma as well. It needs to cool down soon!

    Glad I came across your blog!

  15. Hallie July 20, 2011 at 12:16 am #

    Hi there, fellow BDIBer! I love the way you accessorized this look – the skirt is my favorite part, obviously. Such lovely feminine detailing!

    Your blog is so much fun to browse. Consider me your newest follower! 🙂

    -Hallie (aka Maxi Submission#107)
    http://www.coralsandcognacs.com

    • Jenni July 21, 2011 at 3:43 pm #

      Thanks so much, Hallie! I checked out your blog, too, and I love how you mix outfit photos with other photos–it makes me feel like I’m there with you. Just added you to my Bloglovin’ list of wonderful blogs!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A day of rain « Engineered Style - October 12, 2011

    […] that bridge that you’ve seen in some of my photos (here, here, here)?  Well, Texas finally got some rain.  LOTS of rain.  So here’s what it looked like […]

Leave a Reply

