Fashion Expansion: Pleats

21 Jul

You may remember that my summer wishlist included a pleated skirt.  I haven’t purchased it (yet), but I continue to be enamored by all things pleated.  I suppose it’s the girly-girl in me that swoons for flowy yet refined shapes.  So, for your enjoyment (and mine!), I thought I would give you some ideas on how to jump into this style…whether it be with allover pleats, or just a few tucks here and there.   Personally, I’ll probably stick to pleated skirts and dresses.  For those of us blessed with ample derrieres or hips, I’ve found that the pleated shorts have a tendency to draw attention to the area while flowy skirts or dresses will complement it.  How about you?  Have you jumped on the bandwagon, or are you sitting this one out?

Dresses

1 – ModCloth ($49.99)

2 – ASOS ($32.75 – sale)

3 – Piperlime ($29.97 – sale)

4 – Kohl’s ($37.50 – sale)

Skirts:

1 – Urban Outfitters ($49)

2 – JCrew ($59.50 – sale)

3 – Forever 21 ($14.80)

4 – ASOS ($86.20)

Shorts

1 – Gap ($15.99 – sale)

2 – Alloy ($23.90 – sale)

3 – Old Navy ($15.00 – sale)

4 – Forever 21 ($11.00 – sale)

3 Responses to “Fashion Expansion: Pleats”

  1. aprilgia July 21, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

    Love that long, red skirt…very beautiful! I did pick up a similar style in baby blue while thrifting…it won’t fit now, but hopefully this trend won’t disappear too quickly.

  2. Elya July 21, 2011 at 9:39 pm #

    Oh my #1 dress and all the shorts have my eye…must stay clear from stores lol

  3. Firesparx July 22, 2011 at 7:58 am #

    Picked up a beautiful pink pleated skirt in NYC on a trip earlier this month and I love it. So pretty, and especially nice in the hot weather. Not a fan of pleats on pants or shorts though, still look “old lady” to me!

Leave a Reply

