Six Years

29 Jul

Happy Anniversary, love.

It’s been a bit of a whirlwind week, but I guess that’s to be expected with a birthday and anniversary only 3 days apart.  Maybe next year I’ll line up a few guest posts since I’m so hit or miss this week!  I am working on a fun project this weekend with friends, and I’m excited to share that with you in the next couple weeks!  Other than that, I just wanted to tell you all that I love my husband.  And now I’m going to get really mushy.  Okay, not really.  Just a little.

John and I got married after graduating college at the age of 22 after dating for 5 years.  If you do the math, you’ll figure out we were high school sweethearts.  I like to give credit to 2 of our good friends, Shannon and Dmitri, for introducing us.  John recently told me that although they introduced us, it was because HE asked them to invite me to various events.  Hehe!  Guess he had a crush on little ‘ole oblivious me.    Fast forward to today, and I’m constantly reminded of all the wonderful ways that John complements me (and my crazy quirks)…for instance:

  • Before we got married, he was unaware that I am a silly dancer by myself around the house (yeah, kept that crazy to myself until he was stuck with me!).  Turns out this is okay with him, namely because he loves to crank up music and sing along.
  • I love to cook with a recipe.  John loves to cook without a recipe.  So I buy groceries for my recipes, and he peruses the leftovers to come up with new creations.
  • I am awful at games where you have to guess musical artists, song titles, etc.  John can sing the first line with just a few opening notes (it’s true–we play that game a lot).  Thus he keeps our musical selections up to date since I would never know who / what / where to start without spending a ridiculous amount of time on iTunes.  I always enjoy good tunes, and love that he takes care of it!
  • That goes for all electronics in the house as well.  Yes, I am an engineer, and appreciate technology.  However, I’m thankful he has the passion to build our computers, set up media PCs, and home servers.
  • I thought I was a “saver” until I met John.  Now I know better.  But it’s good to have both a saver and spender in a relationship to balance each other out!
  • John is calm.  All.the.time.  It’s still weird to me, since I can be a bit feisty (that’s the nice way of saying it, right?).  I love that he brings a calm, even tempered perspective to the relationship.
  • Most importantly, he is a man of God.  It’s evident in all that he does, and I am thankful that we can continue to pursue Christ together.

I love you, John.

Commence photo overload.

Taken right after the recessional before the rest of the wedding party arrived--so happy!

A family friend, Chris Wiers (Hedgehog Arts & Letters) made us car window decals!

And a few other details:

Handmade programs

{All photos by Wendy Clark Alexander or Dmitri Brown although owned by me}

9 Responses to “Six Years”

  1. Elya July 29, 2011 at 9:03 am #

    So sweeet…sigh 🙂

  2. Alli July 29, 2011 at 10:48 am #

    The crazy dancing is so funny because I do that too!! How come we never did this together???? hahaha

  3. Jessica Marie July 29, 2011 at 1:16 pm #

    You look stunning, sweets! Congratulations on your anniversary! I wish you infinite years of happiness. And happy birthday, too!

    • Jenni August 5, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

      Thanks, Jessica! We had a great weekend celebrating and it was hard to get back in the swing of things this week!

  4. Stephanie July 30, 2011 at 5:50 pm #

    Brings back some great memories!!! That was a great day….chocolate fountain…awesome dancing…oh and great ceremony, too. 🙂

    • Jenni August 5, 2011 at 7:37 pm #

      Thanks, Stephanie! I miss seeing all my Hope friends! I still love the candy dishes you got us–they match our kitchen perfectly!

  5. Shannon August 2, 2011 at 6:06 pm #

    I love you both, and I’m so honored that I got to play a little part in your love story.

    • Jenni August 2, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

      Love you, Shay! Thanks for the lovely card the other day too–I’ve been thinking about you too!

  6. Emily from up North August 3, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

    you two make a perfect pair. i love you both!

Leave a Reply

