Bloggers Do It Better: Arm Candy

2 Aug

What better way is there to celebrate a birthday than by wearing a new dress?

How about by ALSO wearing a lovely Fossil watch (birthday present from John!) that I’ve been eyeing for awhile now?

It was the perfect addition for the latest Bloggers Do It Better: Arm Party challenge!  I started seeing the arm candy trend several months ago, and have been dabbling in it here and there.  It’s not practical for my job, but every time I see it, I love it, so I’ve really made a conscious effort to try it out when I can!  What’s your stance on bracelets?  Are you all about stacking up the bangles, do you like to keep it simple, or leave ’em behind altogether?

Oh, by the way, this is the dress I mentioned that I picked up on my trip to Fredericksburg.  It’s actually a Kariza (double-layered and reversible wrap-skirt, comprised of vintage, silk-blended fabrics) and I watched this video to figure out how to wear it!

{Dress: Kariza, Belt: NY&Co-similar, Shoes: Target, Watch: Fossil, Bracelets: Gifted}

So now you’re asking…what did I do for my birthday in this fabulous dress?  I spent the evening catching up with some great friends while wine tasting in Fort Worth.  It was the perfect, relaxing birthday I had been hoping for!

Look at that cake! What a masterpiece! Thanks, ladies!

Can you believe she's had 2 babies?! That's one hot mama. Love you Kelly!

The whole group...interestingly enough, they are all in my church small group, and I couldn't ask for better friends!

18 Responses to “Bloggers Do It Better: Arm Candy”

  1. jemappelleshen August 3, 2011 at 12:35 am #

    Hey I participated in the BDIB challenege too! I came across your link and I’m loving your arm party! I like that you kept it simple but it still compliments your outfit so well!

    jemappelleshen.wordpress.com

  2. Aquí August 3, 2011 at 3:26 am #

    Love your take on the challenge! I really like the chunky orange beads with the white watch! Really nice color combo! 🙂

  3. Rachel August 3, 2011 at 7:02 am #

    Looks like a great bday!! That really is a pretty dress, I love the colors! Great watch too.. lots of new goodies 🙂 Can’t wait to see if you try the newspaper nails! -Rachel (adistinctstyle.blogspot.com)

  4. chareeleneeharee August 3, 2011 at 8:06 am #

    CUTE and Happy Birthday!! Love the dress and the watch too. I love white watches for Summer! 🙂

    • Jenni August 5, 2011 at 8:58 pm #

      Thanks! I’ve been wearing the watch non-stop ever since I got it! It goes with so much!

  5. Marissa August 3, 2011 at 12:22 pm #

    You’ll never believe this – I’m currently wearing the same shade of purple with a little splash of sparkle on my ring finger – blogger minds think alike 😉
    Love your white watch. I noticed you said it’s not practical for your job (I’m not sure what your job is), but try wearing a few smaller bangles mixed with a watch. You get the arm party feel without going too overboard!

    xx
    M

    • Jenni August 5, 2011 at 9:09 pm #

      How funny! I’ve been trying some new things with my nails lately, and it’s been a lot of fun! Thanks for the suggestions for other versions of an arm party!

  6. Prissy August 3, 2011 at 12:30 pm #

    Loving the arm candy & your wedding set is gorgeous!!! I’m also wearing a white watch in my arm party!!!

    Prissy

    • Jenni August 5, 2011 at 9:14 pm #

      I’m glad you like the wedding pics–it was fun looking back through them! And yes, white watches are so versatile–I can’t believe I didn’t own one earlier!

  7. two birds August 3, 2011 at 1:51 pm #

    that dress is absolutely amazing and it looks fabulous on you! and of course the bracelets are a super cute addition!

    • Jenni August 5, 2011 at 9:22 pm #

      Thanks for the compliment–so sweet!

  8. Emily from up North August 3, 2011 at 3:46 pm #

    you look so beautiful!

  9. Nicole at Mommy Moxie August 3, 2011 at 4:25 pm #

    I love that nail polish with your dress! That and the contrasting white watch really stand out. I too kept my arm party fairly simple since my “job” doesn’t really condone too many bracelets. Overall though, great look!

    • Jenni August 5, 2011 at 9:34 pm #

      Thanks, Nicole! I love your bracelet selections too–you have a really nice selection of lovely sentimental pieces!

  10. Fashion By Alicia August 4, 2011 at 5:38 am #

    Great dress and I love the white watch!!

  11. Her Late Night Cravings August 4, 2011 at 10:34 am #

    Hey Jenni! Just dropping you another comment… 😉

    I think we’re two peas in a pod. I also just celebrated a birthday (on July 25th) & my hubz gave me a white Fossil watch too. LOL. I am slightly obsessed with my watches & bracelets. (I even do a daily pic on Twitter of my “stack” of the day.) I love your take on the Arm Candy challenge. I’m so glad that we came across your blog. And thank you for following us back! 😉

    Mendi @ Her Late Night Cravings
    http://www.herlatenightcravings.blogspot.com/

  12. Jordin August 4, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

    Love the dress and arm candy! Cute blog! I found you from the arm party! I am in the DFW area too and have a blog called I Love That!

  13. Jennifer Worman (@redsolesredwine) August 8, 2011 at 8:59 am #

    I came across your link from the challenge! Happy belated Bday and love the dress.

    http://redsolesandredwine.com

Leave a Reply

