Design Consultation: Michelle

15 Aug

Last weekend, I had a great girls day with 5 of my friends.  Three of the girls enjoy photography (Elya, Stefanie, Susan), and the other two agreed to indulge us and be our models for the day.  What was my role in all of this?  I got to rummage through their closets and pick out outfits for them.  Not a bad job, right?  In fact, downright enjoyable!  I brought in a few of my own accessories plus one item that I thought would look great on them but that I’ve never seen them try.  I’ll do a separate post on each of them, and we’ll start with Michelle!

Michelle is an athlete—in fact, she’s recently completed a marathon AND a triathlon.  Workout gear is a regular part of her wardrobe, so she started the afternoon in a tshirt and running shorts.  Doesn’t she just look like a strong athlete?  We can all be just a teensy bit jealous right now…

{Photo by Stefanie}

{Photo by Elya}

{Photo by Susan}

In looking through her closet, I found lots of embellished tshirts and cardigans (which I LOVE) and she often throws one on with a pair of jeans and flats.  It’s an easy, casual style that works for everyone.  To give her some fresh ideas, I wanted to mix in some skirts and layers.  I found an awesome jean skirt which looks great with Michelle’s long legs.  I added in a little white blazer to satisfy my own obsession (you all know my affinity for blazers…).

{Photo by Elya}

{Photo by Stefanie}

{Photo by Elya}

{Photo by Stefanie}

Next I paired a strapless black and white shirt with a lovely light pink embellished cardigan and shorts.  In this heat, the cardigan wouldn’t be practical outside, but it’s a great layer for indoor activities.  I added a few of my own accessories–bold accessories look great on Michelle!

{Photo by Stefanie}

{Photo by Susan}

{Photo by Elya}

Lastly, I couldn’t help but push Michelle just a little bit further out of her comfort zone.  I knew a maxi skirt would look great on her, so I paired one of my own maxi dresses with a black polka dot shirt of hers and belted them together.  It turned out great!  We even added a pair of heels to turn it into a date night outfit.

{Photo by Stefanie}

All in all, a success!  Take-aways for Michelle included learning to cuff the sleeves on cardigans for warmer days, adding in layers for more dimension, and accenting an outfit with bold accessories!

One Response to “Design Consultation: Michelle”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Design Consultation: Jennifer « Engineered Style - September 13, 2011

    […] you the second half of the design consultation that I did with my friends awhile ago.  Remember Michelle’s?  Well, another good friend, Jennifer, was also a willing participant and model for myself, and […]

Leave a Reply

