Day 1: Remix

16 Aug

Psst…Did you know I’m also guest posting at Clothed Much today?  Double duty for a Tuesday…not bad!

Have you all met Kayla from Freckles in April?  Thanks to her 21-day challenge (started today!), you get to see me EVERY DAY for the next 21 days.  Wait, that means you all get to see what I wear every day.  Maybe I didn’t think this through?!  Hah!  In actuality, Kayla started the challenge based on her realization that people don’t really notice what you wear–they just see that you look nice or pulled together.  I thought it was the perfect challenge for me to share with you, so hope you enjoy!  If you’re intrigued, go check it out–you don’t need a blog to join the challenge!

So Day 1’s challenge is to pick an item that we will remix to wear 3 times during the challenge.  A neutral choice is typically a good option, so of course I chose a non-neutral shirt with polka dots on one side and stripes on the other.  To compound the challenge today, I also tried mixing jean colors into the outfit….I’ve seen it look really nice on other people, but I think I need to re-dye these jeans (Rit Dye, maybe?) super dark to get the full effect.  I felt a little like I was wearing a Canadian tuxedo all day (sorry to all the Canadians out there…).  All in all, a good first start though!

{Target Jeans, Anthropologie Top, Talbots Jean Jacket, Gifted Scarf}

21 Day Challenge
8 Responses to “Day 1: Remix”

  1. kyle August 16, 2011 at 10:31 am #

    Is this new? I’ve checked out Freckles in April before and I don’t remember the Challenge. I’m intrigued! I was thinking of trying a 30/30 this fall, but I’m scared. Can’t wait to hear your results on a denim dye job.

    Also, Cowboy Boots? You have any? I’d love your input on them before I get a pair. I am dying for them.

    • Jenni August 16, 2011 at 10:42 am #

      Kyle–the challenge started yesterday! I totally think you should jump in and join! It would be a great way to mix in the not-worn-so-much summer pieces you’re trying right now too. Oh, and sadly, I do not own any cowboy boots…crazy right? John is less than thrilled about them, so I’ve restrained. I did see some at Target recently that actually didn’t look cheap, and I’m thinking of trying it out that way first.

  2. Judi August 16, 2011 at 7:58 pm #

    I enjoyed your guest post…I used the blouse over a dress, cinched it with a belt today and added a black blazer over the shirt! It also kept me warmer in the VERY cold air conditioning. It did look like a skirt with a shirt and blazer…a whole new outfit. Great idea.

    • Jenni August 18, 2011 at 9:22 pm #

      Ooh! Sounds cute! You need to send me some pics of these new outfits ideas you’re doing!

  3. Jupe August 16, 2011 at 8:14 pm #

    This sounds like such a great challenge…I love remixing! I did a couple 30-day challenges on a blog I shared with my college roommate, now I’m excited to get started on some of my own remixes for my new blog! Gotta love the double inspiration of a new “baby” blog and being back in community with lovely ladies like yourself.

    ❤ Cambria
    http://jupefashion.blogspot.com/

  4. Carla August 16, 2011 at 8:53 pm #

    Can’t wait to see all the different outfits! if i was to post what i wore for 21 days, there would be lots of the same outfits (and your basic shorts & a t-shirt on the weekends or my running gear)!

    • Jenni August 18, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

      Thanks, Carla! It should be interesting to see what combinations I can come up with. I do have my favorites, and they tend to jump in the rotation over and over! Oh, I recently pick up a running skirt, and that baby is just itching to be tried out!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 11: Neutral Base with a pop of color « Engineered Style - August 26, 2011

    […] the blog for awhile, you’ve seen me wear scarves quite a bit (like this, this, this, and this).  So I knew right away my pop of color would be a scarf.  Recently, I saw another blogger wear […]

Leave a Reply

