Day 11: Neutral Base with a pop of color

26 Aug

*Note* I’ve swapped days 11 and 13 since I can’t wear a skirt to work…I know you all were concerned.  Go ahead and get a good night’s sleep, because I know this concern was going to keep you up at night…

If you’ve been reading the blog for awhile, you’ve seen me wear scarves quite a bit (like this, this, this, and this).  So I knew right away my pop of color would be a scarf.  Recently, I saw another blogger wear it under the collar of a jacket (I wish I could remember who!), and I loved it.  But, the best part of this outfit is the feeling of this jacket—ahhhhhmazing.  Super soft and almost like silk.  More than I normally spend, especially since it’s a jacket that’s meant to be wrinkly and a bit more casual (Read this as meaning I have no obligation to iron it).  Absolutely, totally worth it.  Quality–just the type of item I like to add to the inexpensive basics in the rest of my outfit.

Oh, and I’m thinking about applying to become a “Big Sister” in the Big Brothers, Big Sisters program.  Anybody ever done it?  I’d love to hear your thoughts!

{Target Jean, Thrifted Gap Black Top-similar, Banana Republic Jacket-similar, Kelly & Katie Shoes-similar, Gifted Scarf-similar & Earrings, Fossil Necklace}

2 Responses to “Day 11: Neutral Base with a pop of color”

  1. Carla August 26, 2011 at 8:24 pm #

    Big Brothers Big Sisters ALWAYS needs “bigs” so I say go for it! my friend’s hubby has a little brother that he’s had for years. you would be great!

  2. Angeline August 30, 2011 at 6:50 pm #

    Love the scarf on the outside! How fun.

    No first-hand experience, but my friend’s brother was a Big Brother for years (until his job relocated him), and he loved it. I remember they would always go to baseball games, the zoo, etc. Sounded like a lot of fun!

Leave a Reply

