The Search for Chambray

7 Oct

I’d like to share a little ‘first world problem’ I’ve been having the last few months (that’s the term John and I use to describe issues that are obviously only a concern because our lives are just fine).  Anyhow, I’ve been keeping my eyes open for awhile for a chambray shirt.  Now, they’re virtually everywhere, but for some reason, every one I found was way out of my price range or too light or too dark or had too much color variation–you get the point.  Months, people.  I’ve been looking for months.  However, last week while grocery shopping, I ran across this little number at Target.

Target ($22.99)

It’s pretty much everything I want except that I prefer a standard shirt collar.  However, the ruffles are cute so I made an exception and purchased it (and okay, this one too).  Then a couple days later, I found out J.Crew was having a sale on their sale items, and I ran across another chambray shirt…WITH a collar.

J.Crew ($98.00 –the one I found was around $37 on sale and a little darker in color, but this is the closest picture I could find)

So then I’m torn.  It’s more expensive than the Target version, but it does have the collar I want.  I decide to order it so I can try both on side by side.  It arrived a couple days ago and is perfect, so I’m leaning towards keeping it even though it’s an extra $15.  BUT, then I stumbled across yet another chambray shirt today at Old Navy.

Old Navy ($19.50)

It’s got all the attributes I want AND it’s the cheapest version.  So now I’m thinking to myself that I need to purchase this version and return the other two.  But what a pain.  Returns are such a pain.  See my dilemma, people?  First world problems, I tell ‘ya.  I go months with nothing, and now 3 options in a week.  So what’s your favorite–which one would you keep?  And please don’t tell me you found more for me to look at. 😉

10 Responses to “The Search for Chambray”

  1. Fire October 7, 2011 at 10:23 am #

    I personally love the ruffles, but if it’s a regular collar that you like then keep the JCrew one. IMO, The hassle and effort to return the JCrew one to replace with the Old Navy is not worth the $17 savings. Maybe it’s the engineer in me, but I always add in gas costs, car wear and tear etc. to the costs of things. I also look at what my time is worth! If it would take a couple hours to do the whole switch-a-roo then you’re saying you are worth less than $9 an hour.

    I admit, sometimes I math myself out of things. It’s an illness.

    • Jenni October 12, 2011 at 12:30 pm #

      Ha! Love the math calculations. You are completely right, and I undervalue my time all the time. What a good reminder!

  2. gcampanale October 7, 2011 at 10:24 am #

    That from Old Navy?! I need it!

    • Jenni October 12, 2011 at 12:45 pm #

      Great deal, right? Now if only I had discovered it a week earlier! If you pick it up, you’ll have to let me know how you like it!

  3. Alli October 7, 2011 at 11:56 am #

    I like the JCrew or Old Navy one – you know I’m not a huge fan of the ruffle ;). But to determine which one I would keep, I would base my decision on the material quality. Is JCrew a heavier fabric versus the Old Navy one? Which shirt will hold up longer with washings? I generally will pay slightly more for something I love and I know I’ll get a lot of wear from knowing it won’t show that wear as bad – does that make sense? 🙂

  4. loisem October 7, 2011 at 1:02 pm #

    Okay, I’m going to weigh in for well-made, which Old Navy, regrettably, often is not. So if you figure in the time, gas, inconvenience for the return of JCrew plus its longer reasonably expected lifespan… The collared version is classic, which gives it more versatility and staying power. As you say, though, the ruffles are cute, and for the price… I think you’re going to have two shirts, one with ruffles and one from JCrew!

  5. Julie Hoyt Fisk October 7, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

    Hi Jen! I have that JCrew shirt and I LOVE it. Probably wear it once a week and with THAT kind of rotation, it’s worth the extra cash.

  6. Kathryn Webster Olney October 7, 2011 at 3:11 pm #

    The J Crew one is my favorite. I would consider the workmanship in each item and expect the pricier one is also the best made. Don’t care for the button to shorten the sleeve in either of the other two or the flap pockets. You’ll keep and wear the J Crew one for years, but only wear either of the other two a year, two at the most.

    • Jenni October 12, 2011 at 12:49 pm #

      Well, you 4 ladies convinced me! I kept the J.Crew one, wore it yesterday, and loved it! Perfect weight, and even though chambray is a trend, this shirt has a classic cut and look that I think will last for years. Thanks for your advice! It was just what I needed.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Munday. « Engineered Style - October 24, 2011

    […] and thanks to the wonderful comments in this post, I decided to keep the J.Crew chambray top I picked up.  Thanks, ladies–it was the right […]

Leave a Reply

