Trench Coats

12 Oct

I have this thing for coats.  I think it’s the Michigander in me that just won’t let it go.  I’ve been used to so many years of wearing a coat for 6 months of the year that I’m always on the lookout for a new one.  However, I don’t buy a lot of coats.  How could I justify that?!  I live in Texas, where a winter jacket is pulled out twice a year…one of those times being to pack it up for a trip to Michigan.  Part of the reason for leaving my winter jackets in the closet is that my Michigan coats are super warm.  They have to be!  So maybe that’s what I need to do…get a coat that’s not so warm!  On that note, I’ve been perusing trench coats.  They’re such a classic silhouette.  Here’s a couple of my favorites so far:

Top (J.Crew $398)

Bottom (Anthropologie $99.95)

My favorite winter coat is from J.Crew.  In my humble opinion, J.Crew wool outerwear is the best around.  Hands down.  Mine has lasted for a good 7-8 years, continues to stay classic, and I still get compliments on how beautiful it is.  This particular J.Crew trench is way out of my price range, but isn’t that tulle on the inside adorable?  My inner ballerina loves it.

Anthropologie consistently has the most whimsical and detailed clothing around.  A bright red trench with a corseted back?  Stunning.  Red (along with black and khaki) are so classic to me as well.  If you’re not big into bright colors, you can call me crazy, but when has red ever been out of style?  It also happens to be on sale, so go snatch it up!  Do you already own a trench coat, or do you share my obsession with coats in general?

8 Responses to “Trench Coats”

  1. Firesparx October 12, 2011 at 10:34 am #

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE trenches. I impulse purchased a navy trench from RW&Co last year and have barely taken it off since. It has a belt at the empire waist which makes it so feminine. I tend to impulse buy coats for some reason but then when I get home I find out I actually need them. I live just across the lake from Michigan in Ontario so I have similar weather to what you are used to. Winter coats have always been my bane though, until I found the perfect coat at Winners (Canadian equivalent to TJ Maxx) one summer (go figure!)

    • Jenni October 12, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

      Glad it’s not just me, and you may have just pushed me over the edge on purchasing a trench coat! Ontario, huh? Brrrrrr! I have a feeling that’s even colder than Michigan. I bet once you got the perfect winter coat, you were waiting all fall for the chance to finally pull it out! Although, in Ontario, maybe that wasn’t such a long wait. 😉

  2. Carla October 12, 2011 at 8:06 pm #

    I have a trench i bought at H&M about 6 years ago and LOVE it! i get compliments on it all the time – it’s a dusty rose/plaid (not sure if i you’ve seen it). I LOVE the red one from anthropologie – might be time to update my coat, especially at that price.

    • Jenni October 20, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

      You know…I don’t know if I have seen that one, but it’s sounds cute! (We so rarely see each other in normal clothes!) Oh, and you should also check out the coats that Target is carrying right now, too. I was blown away by how adorable they are!

  3. Judi Folkert October 14, 2011 at 1:35 pm #

    OK, that coat has my vote. Could I suggest that on my “Christmas Wish List”? I love the red. And, btw, you’ve obviously forgotten Michigan weather. We wear coats here about 9 months of the year and sometimes more…not 6! Hugs…mom

    • Jenni October 20, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

      Well, if I get for you for Christmas, we’d be twinsies…I couldn’t pass it up! I’m going to have to bring it up for the holidays just so you can try it on. It’s so lovely!

  4. Julia October 16, 2011 at 10:37 pm #

    I absolutely love that J.Crew trench. I’ve been wanting to add a trench to my wardrobe as well. I’m debating buying one from J.Crew (I also adore their outerwear) or waiting until I can get one handmade at the fabric market in Shanghai (for a much lower price).

    On a random note, I’ve been working on simplifying my wardrobe somewhat as well as my purse collection, and I would love your tips or a general list of what is worth keeping and what isn’t or what the staples are that you should always have. Possible post material?

    Have a great week!

    • Jenni October 20, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

      Fabric market in Shanghai? Whoa–that sounds like a one-of-a-kind coat! I love that you’re simplifying your wardrobe, and I think that is some great post material…you’ve got my wheels turning!

Leave a Reply

