Fort Worth Running Company: Ladies Night

19 Oct

Last week I got the opportunity to attend a “Ladies Night” at Fort Worth Running Company.  They hosted a social run and had drinks, snacks, fittings, AND fashion.  Since those are my 5 favorite things, I knew I had to attend.  Plus, you all know I love Fort Worth Running Company so any excuse to stop in is a good one!  I even got the chance to take photos and model a couple outfits throughout the evening.  I haven’t bought new running gear in awhile, and I was blown away by all the new technology and features offered in running clothes nowadays (whoa–that makes me sound old).  So how about it?  Want to see my favorites of the evening?

Adidas Super Nova Track Jacket (solid grey and sharp purple): $65.00

Adidas Sequence Long Sleeve Tee (sharp purple): $45.00

Soloman Momentum II Tight (black): $75.00

Check out that long sleeved shirt–love the hand holds on it.  It makes it a lot easier to keep the sleeves in place while layering pieces over it.  That sure beats the yanking and fussing I’m always doing when layering winter running gear.  Wait, what am I saying?  I have that problem when layering any clothes.  Let’s get those hand holds put into normal clothes too, how ’bout?  Plus, Texas winters often require gloves only while warming up, so the longer length would be great for giving fingers a little extra warmth without the need to carry gloves the rest of the run.

LEFT Craft 1/2 Zip Light Weight Stretch Pullover (tech blue): $80

Craft Active Run Capri (black): $50.00.

RIGHT Moving Comfort Mobility Long Sleeve Tee (artic blue): $60.00

Moving Comfort Flow Capri (grey): $54.00

I love running capris, and I love that they are available in so many different styles.  I wear them in transitional seasons where I can’t bring myself to put on shorts yet know I’ll be roasting in pants mid-run.  Something about being cold pre-run gets to me even though I know I’ll be fine in a couple miles!  Capris are a perfect fix for that.  Depending on your body type and personal preference, you may opt for a style that tight or loose on the bottom.  Try on a few pairs and see what you like.  I opted for a pair that hits just below my knees and is tight on the bottom.  I’m pear shaped, so I would typically opt for something slightly looser on the bottom, but I found a black pair with some swirls on it that actually minimizes my booty.  Plus, I’m running, so that should be minimizing it too..tee-hee!  Just stay away from any capris that hit closer to your ankles than you see on these ladies–we don’t want to shorten the appearance of the toned legs you’re getting while running!

LEFT Craft Flex Hood Full Zip Jacket (black): $60.00

Moving Comfort S/S Talent Tee (arctic blue): $34.00

Moving Comfort Flow Pant (black): $60.00

RIGHT Soloman XR Jacket (bay blue): $85.00

Soloman Fleet Long Sleeve Tee (bay blue): $50.00

Soloman Trail IV 3/4 Tight (black) $65.00

I tried on a pair of pants similar to the ones on the left, and my first thought was–‘Wait, these aren’t too long?!’  Then I checked the tag and realized I had picked up them up in a ‘short’ length.  I have never been able to find running pants that were the right length up until now!  I actually opted for a version that was tight at the bottom last winter when I couldn’t find something short enough.  Problem solved now!  Oh, and the Soloman Jacket on the right is great–a perfect lightweight wind breaker.  I have a similar one that I wear all the time.

Craft PR Long Sleeve Tee (blue/Honolulu): $60.00

Craft AR Run Skirt (black): $50.00

Yup, you get a picture of me!  And believe me, I did not want to take this outfit off after the event.  This skirt is ahhhhmazing.  The pleats are adorable (tennis, anyone?), but more importantly, the fit was perfect.  It has slightly longer tights underneath which you can’t see from this angle, but I liked that when the skirted “swooshed” when walking / running, you wouldn’t be flashing a lot of leg–just some black tights.  I have a feeling this may be my next running skirt.  The top is great too–a nice, basic long sleeved tee that longer in the back…just like I like it.  Nobody wants to feel the cold wind when bending over to tie your shoes!  Hope you ladies enjoyed!  These items are all available at Fort Worth Running Company, so go check it out!  I’ll put more pics from the night on my Facebook page, so be sure to check those out too!

3 Responses to “Fort Worth Running Company: Ladies Night”

  1. Emily October 19, 2011 at 7:27 pm #

    some great outfits! makes me want to revamp my running wardrobe — gap cotton capris and an old college tee anyone?!

    • Jenni October 20, 2011 at 9:24 pm #

      Hahaha…better than the “buns” racing gear! That’s something I’ll never be trying!

  2. Jim Newsom October 24, 2011 at 3:18 pm #

    You’ve been promoted to Fashion Editor on our web site. Hope you don’t mind. I told James if you lived in New York, you’d be working for a fashion magazine!

Leave a Reply

